Tina Kakadelis
YA Author
Full Cloud.png

The Carly Allen Trilogy



The Carly Allen Trilogy

The Carly Allen trilogy was born out of a cornerstone of my childhood: teen romantic comedies. As I grew up and started to realize I was gay, I was bummed that none of these really great movies I watched had an LGBT teen as the lead. If they did, it tended to be a heavy tearjerker where someone was bound to die at the end. I didn't want that. So I decided to write the story I searched high and low for as a teen. The story of a high school lesbian not coming out, but coming of age.

This is Carly Allen's story.


Burn Before Reading

Carly Allen is finishing up her senior year of high school. After a rough break-up at the beginning of the year, she’s ready to move on and leave her hometown in the dust. The only problem? She still hasn’t heard back from any of the colleges she applied to. As the end of the year approaches, will Carly be able to figure out her future in time? Throw in a new crush, a moderately successful high school jam band, and a sarcastic freshman to tutor, and it’ll be a miracle if she makes it to graduation alive.

I Didn't Start the Fire

It’s the beginning of the rest of her life…or at least the next four years. Carly Allen has graduated from high school and is poised to begin her freshman year at Oberlin College. She’s leaving everything behind for the promised land of Ohio. While dealing with new friends, classes, a mysterious roommate, and a long-distance relationship, Carly’s trying to find a voice of her own. Packed with more ’80s music than anyone has ever asked for, I Didn’t Start the Fire is the latest installment of the Carly Allen trilogy.



Burn After Reading


Coming in 2019!